Find Accessories For My Gun x
 
You Are In:
 

Taurus 617SS2 M617 7RD 357MAG/38SP 2" Reviews

$444.00
 
Product Reviews Ratings Summary
 
23 Reviews. Average Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">4.7 of 5 Stars!</span> [4.7 of 5 Stars!]
5 stars:
   
83% (19 of 23)
4 stars:
   
14% (3 of 23)
3 stars:
 
0% ( of 23)
2 stars:
 
0% ( of 23)
1 star:
   
4% (1 of 23)
 
 
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
by Hank J Tuesday 28 March, 2017
This revolver is BADASS! Accuracy with .38 Special is very good, but because of the short barrel the .357 mag. goes a little wonky (keyholes) from 7 yards. But it's plenty good enough for SD. Recoil is very manageable. And having a 7 shot wheel gun is pretty cool, especially with a matching speed loader. I have other Taurus hand guns and like them all, never had any issues.

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">5 of 5 Stars!</span> [5 of 5 Stars!]
by Alan B Sunday 12 March, 2017
This revolver is one hot item. Every time it has popped up on the available list in the last few months it sold out before I could raise the funds to purchase it. About 10 days ago it popped up again and I decided that this was it, now or never. 24 hours later it was gone again, I may have bought the last one. I have owned a few different Taurus revolvers over the years and they all did well and this one is no exception, though I never would have imagined paying over 500 bucks for a Taurus. Supply and demand got me this time for sure, as the price of the gun increased by about a hundred bucks since I was still researching it a while back. Thumbs halfway up for that. Now for the gun. I bought a Charter Arms Bulldog a while back (Yes, I am a revolver guy. Some of you act like they are not real guns anymore) and had been keeping it in my car and jacket pocket here and there. The 617 is noticeably heavier but pretty much the same size, only a little bit wider about the cylinder. This extra weight (especially on the front end) does exactly what I had hoped it would do. That is to provide the shooter with more control over the piece. At 21 feet I was shooting mostly orange, with a few Bulls and certainly a few in the white. I went ahead and chewed up the Bull with my P89 for good measure; old fashioned, you knew that. Small hands will do better with single action as it is an itty bitty gun, but I did very well in double action, as the trigger has two distinctive stages and then \"Bang\". Spit out a box of 38 as well as 3 different kinds of magnum loads. Best shooting was the 110 grain 357 Winchester SJHP for recoil and aim. As expected, 158 grain magnum loads were murder on the hand but did just fine. Next time I will be trying some 125 grain magnum loads, but I am not too bashful about any load in this gun. Fit, finish and sights are just fine. Mine did not come with the Taurus written logo on the left side of the barrel and only the Taurus round logo, Taurus Intl Miami FL, serial#, model # and made in Brazil (all on the right side). Caliber is stamped on the underside of the barrel. No problem. Two thumbs up! Buds guns. This was my first internet purchase of an actual firearm. We ordered accessories a while back from Buds and had bad luck with the visa transaction. Not cool. This time my wife used an E check and all I had to be nervous about was this hotter than Hell gun arriving at my dealer in one piece. Placed the order last Wednesday evening, took a couple days for the check to clear our bank and then their bank and my gun was on it\'s way home. About 8 days I guess it took, fast! Next day was yesterday and it happened to be my Birthday. Rolling. Thanks Buds!

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">4 of 5 Stars!</span> [4 of 5 Stars!]
by seth w Monday 19 December, 2016
Was looking for a .357 revolver with a little more capacity and finally settled on the 617. First time user at Buds and it was a pleasant experience. Got a great deal on a cash price and gun arrived at local FFL 8 days later. Shot 50 rounnds of 38 special, 25 rounds of P+ 38 special, and 21 of 357 no problem. Gun fired it all perfectly and accurately. 357 packs a wallop from that 2'' barrel, so .38 P+ is probaly what I'll run as a carry, 357 at home. Very concealable and can't find 7 rounds at this caliber for a better price!

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">5 of 5 Stars!</span> [5 of 5 Stars!]
by Homer J Saturday 06 August, 2016
Excellent gun and great buying experience through Buds. Gun will be self defense for wife who could not master racking slide on semi autos. Loaded it with 38 Special and she is able to shoot it accurately enough at 20 feet to put multiple rounds into torso area. And seven shots is an unexpectedly large amount of firepower in a small revolver. I actually like to use it as an occasional carry gun with 357 self defense load.

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">5 of 5 Stars!</span> [5 of 5 Stars!]
by John D K Saturday 09 January, 2016
Bought my Taurus 617 from Bud's on 1-23-15 and was completely satisfied with Bud's when it comes to service ,price and delivery. I recommend Bud's to not only my friends but to everyone for their gun's need. Class act all the way.

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">5 of 5 Stars!</span> [5 of 5 Stars!]
by IANNICK B Monday 19 October, 2015
What a great revolver to conceal carry, I went on Ebay and bought a holster for $15.00 . Once again thank you bud for having a layaway option. You guys are the best.......

Rating: <span itemprop="ratingValue">5 of 5 Stars!</span> [5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Write Review

More Info