You Are In:
 
Product Search
Search Descriptions  
Free Shipping Option

***POWER SEARCH***

 

Store Directory

Manufacturers
View all items by any one manufacturer by searching or selecting it from the dropdown
 
 
Buy with Confidence
 

Customers

2137373 Since 2003:
2139 Currently Online:


 
 
 
Information
 
FAQ
How to Buy a Gun Online
How to Purchase NFA (Class III) Items
Don't Lie for the Other Guy
Why Buy From Buds?
Payment Options/Cancellation Fees
Shipping & Returns
State Restrictions
Warranty
Norton Shopping Guarantee
Team Buds
Recent Reviews
Conditions of Use
Privacy Notice
 
 
 
Partners
 
Facebook YouTube Channel Twitter Feed Instagram
Savage HS 308 24 5R-THREADED BARREL
[19056]
$1,065.00
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by Woodfin N Friday 09 January, 2015
I have had this rifle for a few months now. I did not want to post a review it until I had the opportunity to use it to some degree. I followed Savage's tedious barrel break-in process: http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/proceduresbarrelbreakin/ Since the break-in requires a significant amount of cleaning, the full accuracy of a rifle is not realized during this process. Only until the bore is fouled will a barrel start shooting to its full potential. However, I could tell during the break-in process that this rifle was accurate. Groups were decent even during the break-in. Once done with the break-in (which I don't know is even necessary), I was able to start shooting some reloads I had prepared. On a clean bore, I started out shooting some 168 grain Hornady Match HP ammo at different powder charges using cheap brass. After 5 fouling shots, the groups tightened up tremendously and were very nice.......sub MOA at 105 yards. I was later able to shoot some Hornady 178 grain A-Max bullets which I had loaded with nicer Norma brass. The results were outstanding using various powder charges. I admit, I have not shot this rifle as much as I would have liked, but it is a very accurate rifle. The major accuracy limitation is going to be me. I will also say that the chamber dimensions of this rifle is very close to spec. I had another .308 rifle by another brand that had a very long throat, which I felt hindered accuracy somewhat. The Savage throat is much shorter putting the bullets closer to the lands of the barrel, which I believe is one reason it shoots so much better. This rifle also has an aluminum bedding block built into the stock to enhance accuracy. The stock is very comfortable too. Although, I wished the grip was a little smaller for my hands, although it fits my hand well enough and is not what I would call over-sized. Another reviewer stated that this rifle does not have a heavy barrel. I have to agree. It tapers down very small towards the muzzle. However, that does not appear to hinder the accuracy any and it is generously floated in the HS Precision stock. (Please be aware that Savage makes a non-threaded version of this rifle. I think the model no. is 18139 It has a 1:10 twist barrel instead of a 1:11.25, and from looking at pictures on the internet, it appears that the barrel for it is a true heavy barrel.) Overall, I am very happy with this rifle. The Accu-trigger is pretty good, but I would have liked to have seen it adjust down a tad bit lower. The product description says it can adjust down to 1.5 lbs. I think that it a bit optimistic. My trigger adjust down to just over 2 lbs if I recall correctly. However, the trigger is not creepy and breaks very crisp. I have thought about an aftermarket trigger for a lower pull weight, but I think the trigger is good enough for now. I wish Savage would have put their target Accu-triggers in these rifles. Also, please note that the rifle DOES come in the HS Precision stock as pictured. It seems that another reviewer received one in a different stock. From reading elsewhere, it is my understanding that Savage sent the rifle out in the wrong stock and the mistake was corrected. I scoped my rifle with a Leupold 8.5-25X50 target scope using a 20 MOA Warne steel base and Warne low vertical rings. The rifle looks as good as it shoots. In the end, I have to take off one star because it is not a true heavy barrel and I could not get the Accu-trigger to adjust down to 1.5 lbs. But, that aside, it is definitely a keeper and I do not regret the purchase one bit. Buds was also great at getting the rifle to me in a timely fashion.

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!]
by Dustin w Thursday 28 August, 2014
I was wary of the stock after seeing previous comments it came with the wrong one as well as seeing a complaint on snipershide.com about the same thing. Well if any of you are looking into this rifle it definitely comes with the HS Precision stock AS PICTURED! Only one other person had this rifle besides Bud's and Bud's beat their price by almost $200! I haven't shot it yet but I've got a nice Sightron SIII sitting on her in Seekins Precision rings and bases. The rifle was in great condition and arrived at my Gun smith's shop in about a week. The fit and finish was beautiful, and the barrel is a true 5R style. I COULDN'T have asked for a nicer rifle in the price range, Bud's knocked it out of the park. To top all of that Bud's dropped the price a day after I made my purchase and at first I was upset but they reminded me about the "Buy Safe Guarantee" and they sent me a check for the $26 price difference! This was my first online gun purchase and Bud's made it awesome and took care of me like a great company should. BOTTOM LINE... Bud's rocks and the rifle is everything I thought it would be and more!

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
by Wayne P Friday 22 August, 2014
I would not call the barrel heavy. It is a tapered barrel (0.8"). Exactly the same diameter as my Savage Mark II 22lr. The bolt and magazibe were out of their plastic bags and loose in the box.

Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!]
by Daniel G Saturday 15 June, 2013
I really like the accutrigger. I find the hs stock to be very comfortable for me. It shoots Federal GMM 168's in five shot groups as one ragged hole. My hand loads with 110gr Vmax are also one hole groups at 100yrds. I love it.

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
by Nicholas S Monday 25 February, 2013
Ordered this gun back from Jan 24 2013, It got delivered to my FFL Freburary 18 2013. The gun looks exactly what showing on Bud's website. Went through barrel break-in procedure(http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/proceduresbarrelbreakin/) that savage recomended. Got my Bushnell ET6245FJ Elite Tactical scope with with Warne Scope Mounts Maxima QD rings sitting on Warne Scope Mounts Tactical 20MOA. Couldn't be any happier with the accuracy of this rifle. Only gripe is, it took too long to be shipped.

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
by Alex M Saturday 23 February, 2013
As I was informed by Savage this gun is no longer shipped with the pictured stock (PST114) it is being shipped with the PSS001. Buds was helpful but is lacking in QC by my standards. The gun is an FCP HS 5R, but from the information that was given to me is not entirely in the HS line because it is an "Exclusive" item, and has some design changes. According to Savage all FCP HS's will no longer be shipped with the PST114 stocks and the image on their website is also wrong. The gun also has a fluted barrel, for me its not entirely a problem but for some may be an option that is not wanted. this is not a negative rating on the quality of the gun, its a great gun, its just not the gun that you see here on this page. so for an accurate description of this gun as advised to me by savage: Is an FCP HS 5R, a 24" fluted barrel that is threaded to 5/8-24 and is attached to an HS Precision PSS001 style stock. Not the one that is pictured (PST114). I am not convinced that this is accurate either but we'll let the rest of the consumers decide I sincerely hope that this is a misunderstanding, but by the information that has been given to me to date appears to be fact.

Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Write Review

More Information on product...