Find Accessories For My Gun x
 
 
Chat now

Mossberg 590 Blackwater Edition 12g 20" 9SH CB PRK SFED Reviews

$575.00

More Info Add to Cart

 
Product Reviews Ratings Summary
 
9 Reviews. Average Rating:    4 of 5 Stars!
5 stars:
   
67% (6 of 9)
4 stars:
   
12% (1 of 9)
3 stars:
 
0% ( of 9)
2 stars:
 
0% ( of 9)
1 star:
   
22% (2 of 9)
 
 
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2   
by Thomas S Wednesday 14 January, 2015
Really nice shotgun, I removed the side rails from the slide as they hit my thumbs under recoil which bugged me.

Rating:     5 of 5 Stars!
by John G Wednesday 26 November, 2014
This is a fantastic hd weapon. Like another who has reviewed the product on Buds, I had issues with the recoil pad flying off the end of the speedfeed stock after I loaded 2 2-3/4 rounds into it. I received the product at the end of September 2012, so it seems this may have been an issue during this time frame. Not being able to fire it right away was a major disappointment. I also had some difficulty in dealing with the Mossberg customer service as well. In the end, they shipped me an entirely new speedfeed stock and recoil pad after about 3 weeks of constantly following up with them. I put the new stock on and have put about 2000 rounds through it since. After the initial disappointment, the experience has been fantastic. From 3" slugs to 2-3/4" buck, it has never let me down since. This is a reliable hd shotgun that is incredibly versatile and customizable. I would give this 5 stars if not for the initial defect and difficulty in getting it corrected.

Rating:     4 of 5 Stars!
by Mike M Wednesday 06 November, 2013
I bought a Mossie 500 from buds awhile back - 0 problems. Works perfect. Then the BW 590 came in stock so I purchased it. This Mossie is much better made. Heavier barrel, XS big dot sights, and a speed fed stock. I like this stock better for activating the safety quicker. This gun just feels more solid. 8 1, so it holds one more round. Around the sight and bayonet lug is white solder. No big deal, magic marker cures it quick. I though it was glue but read reviews and its normal. One thing, the shipping sucked. Got it the third week after purchasing. All other transactions from buds took me 4 days. Oh well, I will still buy from buds. I have the 930 spx blackwater on layaway. I will continue to deal with buds. This shotgun rocks and looks mean as hell.

Rating:     5 of 5 Stars!
by John W Sunday 16 December, 2012
I ordered this 590A1 on Dec. 7, 2012 received it yesterday Dec.14 which is remarkably fast for this time of year. When I inspected it at my FLL I opened the box and a simultaneous wow happened . Then the clerk called over his co-workers to check it out. A few customers gathered around to take a look. This gun says "Don't mess with me!" I took it home cleaned it then remembered I have an old M-7 bayonet from my Navy Corpsman days, it went on like it belonged there. With that affixed it screams "Don't mess with me!" I put it to bed in a black Voodoo shotgun scabbard. Now for the good part. I took it out to my ranch land this morning and put about 50 rounds of #4 shot through to break it in. It's smooth and accurate. This evening right before sunset I took this bad boy out to the brush. There they were right where I expected them. Hogs, the bane of every Texan rancher and farmer's existance. I dropped a 250lb boar with a slug right on the mark at about 75 yards and much to my surprize I was able to take down a second 170 pounder on the run thanks to the fast target acquisition of the ghost ring sights. I have to admit the second shot although devastating wasn't a clean kill, but, that's where the old M-7 came in handy I'll spare you the details. If you're on the fence about which shotgun to buy jump down on the 590A1 side it's a lot of firepower for the money. The 590A1 is now my go to gun for hogs and home defence.

Rating:     5 of 5 Stars!
by Elizabeth W Friday 02 November, 2012
Buds was great, fast shipping, no problems there at all. Received the 590a1 at local FFL Inspected best I could, got it home and immediately noticed the safety is immovable. Contacted Mossberg customer support after 20 minutes on hold, was told to use a plastic hammer to try to knock it loose. They said maybe it was too much loctite on the saftey mechanism. Alas, no movement. Disassembled the shotgun to see if there was anything I could do there. Nothing, and I did not feel like spending more time trying to fix Mossberg's shoddy QC. Having to ship the gun back at my costs and if I'm LUCKY, I might get it back in 3 weeks. And to think I passed up on the Bennelli Nova Tactical for this. This is my second Mossberg and will be my last.

Rating:     1 of 5 Stars!
by Overlin A Tuesday 23 October, 2012
This shotgun is very nice however, I did have an issue with the butt stock falling apart. The rubber pad fell off once I took it home and it looked like a defect. The screws and plastic "ears" that hold the rubber pad were broken. I contacted Mossberg and they quickly shipped me a new butt stock after they received mine. I'm happy it worked out but it's a major annoyance when you have a broken gun that you've never even shot for over a month and you have to pay for shipping the defective part back. Aside the butt stock issue the gun is a sweetie. I shot over 100 rounds of bird shot and I had a nice bruise on my shoulder the next day! Two other issues with this gun that may or may not be an issue for you is that the forend grip has a couple rails that look cool but really slap your thumb when you fire it. It's really painful. Removing the rail may help but I'll find out next time I go to the range. The other thing about this shotgun is that it's heavy. It's designed to be carried and abused by our law and military operators. I really didn't understand how heavy this gun really is..LOL. It's not a complaint but it's an observation that kept crossing my mind after a couple of hours of shooting. The sights on this gun are excellent. It's exactly what I was looking for in a shotgun. In short, I do recommend this gun but it does have some design issues. The butt stock may be defective and the forend grip rail positions are in a bad spot but other than that I recommend it if you can work around its shortcomings.

Rating:     5 of 5 Stars!
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2   
Write Review


X